Facebook will introduce a brand new feature called the ‘Tributes’ section which will enable its 3 billion strong users to post messages on memorialized accounts. This section will remain as a separate section from the rest of the user’s timeline. This section will be subject to the user’s privacy settings. If the memorialized account’s privacy is set to friends and family, then the user’s friends and family members can still post in the timeline and in the comments of posts that the user made before his or her death.
If a user has turned on the Tributes section of his or her profile, then any future posts which will be made after the user’s account have been memorialized will be placed in this section. Once an account has been memorialized, it prevents anyone from logging into that account anymore.
Facebook users who have been made ‘legacy contacts’ by their friends have already been notified about this Tributes section in their Facebook accounts. The notification message contains the euphemistic phrase “if your account is memorialized.”
There is also a dedicated page about the Tributes section on the Facebook’s Help Center which tells users that the Tributes section is a space that is dedicated for memorialized accounts and lets the loved ones of that account such as friends and family members to post things such as commemorating a birthday, share memories, post stories or much more.
Accounts that have been set as “Legacy contacts” will experience more leeway over the tribute posts compared to the other parts of the account. This added control will enable them to determine who or who may not view these tribute posts. They will also be able to delete tribute posts as a legacy contact. They will also be able to determine who can view the posts where the deceased person has been tagged in, or simply remove the tag altogether. Among further controls, the legacy contact will also be able to turn off the timeline view feature, even if the deceased person set the timeline view on before his or her death. All future posts that will be made on the account after it has been memorialized will be placed in the Tributes section. The Tribute section’s Facebook Help Page says “we do our best to separate tribute posts from timeline posts based on the info that we were given.”
Even with these new controls, legacy contacts won’t be able to log in to the memorialized account’s Facebook page. Neither can the legacy contact view messages of the memorialized account’s inbox or add or delete their friends.